< back

T-Bone Concerto (for trombone & piano)

Rare - Medium - Well Done
Johan de Meij

The T-Bone Concerto is my very first composition for solo instrument and symphonic band. It consists of three movements called respectively ‘Rare’, ‘Medium’ and ‘Well Done’. This work was commissioned by The Kentucky Music Educators Association [KMEA] and was written between August 1995 and January 1996. The first movement was given at the annual KMEA-conference in Louisville, Kentucky (February 1996), Jeffrey Thomas being the soloist. The world premiere of the complete work was performed by Jacques Mauger and the Band of the Royal Dutch Marines, conducted by Maurice Hamers, at the Concertgebouw Amsterdam on March 1st, 1996.
This is the version for trombone and piano.

Johan de Meij - Amsterdam, February 1996