• details

    • Order numbers:
    • Instrumentation: Symphonic Brass (4331) + Percussion
    • Duration: 4'
< back

Ceremonial Fanfare

for symphonic brass + percussion
Johan de Meij

The Ceremonial Fanfare, written for orchestral brass and percussion, was commissioned by The Orchestra Osaka Symphoniker from Osaka, Japan. The world première performance took place on April 12, 2005 at The Symphony Hall in Osaka, conducted by maestro Heiichiro Ohyama.

In April 2009, the combined brass sections of the New York Philharmonic and the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra gave an impressive performance in New York City. The concert commemorated the Henry Hudson Quadricentennial and 400 years of friendship between The United States and The Netherlands.

NB. The recommended instrumentation is one player to a part [4331.timp.perc] But the brass parts may be equally doubled or tripled - JdM

3. Trumpet I [Bb]
3. Trumpet II [Bb]
3. Trumpet III [Bb]

2. Horn I [F]
2. Horn II [F]
2. Horn III [F]
2. Horn IV [F]

2. Trombone I (Tenor Clef C)
2. Trombone II (Tenor Clef C)
2. Bass Trombone (Bass Clef C)
2. Tuba (Bass Clef C)

2. Timpani
3. Percussion: Tam tam, Suspended Cymbal,  2 Cymbals, Tubular Bells