• details

    • Order numbers: tbd
    • Instrumentation: wind orchestra, soprano solo and choir (SATB)
    • Duration: tbd
    • Grade: 5
< back

Symphony No. 5 Return to Middle Earth

Johan de Meij
Ancalagon the Black - © Jordy Lakiere


After 30 years, composer Johan de Meij revisits Middle-Earth, the enchanting mythological world of J.R.R. Tolkien, with his Symphony No. 5 Return to Middle Earth. Although there are some thematic reminiscences to his monumental first symphony The Lord of the Rings from 1988, De Meij is putting a completely different musical vibe into this new symphony. There is an important role for a solo soprano and a mixed choir: they sing in Ilkorin, one of the Elvish languages ​​of Middle-Earth. The Orcs and other thugs also take the stage, but they only use raw screams in their own language, also known as 'black speech'.

The 5th symphony consists of six movements:

I) Mîri na Fëanor (Fëanor’s Jewels)
II) Tinúviel (Nightingale)
III) Ancalagon i-môr (Ancalagon, The Black)
IV) Arwen Undómiel (Evenstar)
V) Dagor Delothrin (The War of Wrath)
VI) Thuringwethil (Woman of Secret Shadow)

The symphony was commissioned by The Middle Earth Consortium Project, organized by the Valparaiso University in Valparaiso, Indiana (USA). The world premiere will take place November 3rd, 2018 with the composer conducting.

Upcoming Premieres:

Asian Premiere:
Osaka Shion Wind Orchestra - Conductor: Johan de Meij
April 27, 2019 - 2:30 pm The Symphony Hall, Osaka - Japan

German Premiere:
Landesblasorchester Badem-Wurtemberg - Björn Bus
June 01, 2019 - 8:00 pm Osnabrück - Germany

European Premieres:
Harmonie St. Michael Thorn
Conductor: Ivan Meylemans, Claudia Couwenbergh soprano, Brabant Koor
June 02, 2019 - 2:00 pm Concertzaal Tilburg, Tilburg - The Netherlands
June 09, 2019 - 2:00 pm Tivoli Vredenburg, Utrecht - The Netherlands