• details

    • Order numbers: tbd
    • Instrumentation: wind orchestra, soprano solo and choir (SATB)
    • Duration: tbd
    • Grade: 5
< back

Symphony No. 5 Return to Middle Earth

Johan de Meij


After 30 years, composer Johan de Meij revisits Middle-Earth, the enchanting mythological world of J.R.R. Tolkien, with his Symphony No. 5 Return to Middle Earth. Although there are some thematic reminiscences to his monumental first symphony The Lord of the Rings from 1988, De Meij is putting a completely different musical vibe into this new symphony. There is an important role for a solo soprano and a mixed choir: they sing in Ilkorin, one of the Elvish languages ​​of Middle-Earth. The Orcs and other thugs also take the stage, but they only use raw screams in their own language, also known as 'black speech'.

The 5th symphony consists of six movements:

I) Mîri na Fëanor (Fëanor’s Jewels)
II) Tinúviel (Nightingale)
III) Dagor Delothrin (The War of Wrath)
IV) Arwen Undómiel (Evenstar)
V) Rheniw na Lhûg (Dragonflight)
VI) Thuringwethil (Woman of Secret Shadow)

The symphony was commissioned by Valparaiso University in Valparaiso, Indiana (USA). The world premiere will take place November 3rd, 2018 with the composer conducting.