• details

    • Order numbers: AM 60-010
      Hal Leonard # 4000140
    • Instrumentation: wind orchestra
    • Duration: 8'
    • Grade: 5
  • audio

< back

Magic Garden (from The Venetian Collection)

Johan de Meij
Zaubergarten (Magic Garden) - Paul Klee

“Painting turns space into time, music turns time into space”
[Hugo von Hofmannstal]

MAGIC GARDEN by Johan de Meij was inspired by a painting of the same name [Zaubergarten, 1926] by German artist Paul Klee [1879 - 1940]. The work forms the third movement of THE VENETIAN COLLECTION, an orchestral suite in which De Meij gives his musical impressions of four different paintings from the Peggy Guggenheim Collection.

Precisely as the painting, the composition is completely different from the other parts of the cycle, which are all clearly exponents of Surrealism. De Meij aimed at illustrating Klee’s colourful, naive dream world by means of a fragile, transparent texture, bringing extensively the woodwinds into the limelight. The rather abrupt conclusion is preceded by a breathtakingly fast unison passage for the complete woodwind group.

MAGIC GARDEN was commissioned by the Hofstra University Symphonic Band from Hempstead, New York [USA].

The other movements of the THE VENETIAN COLLECTION are based on VOICE OF SPACE by René Magritte, THE RED TOWER by Italian painter Giorgio De Chirico and EMPIRE OF LIGHT by, again, René Magritte, who was a great admirer of De Chirico. All four paintings can be found in the Guggenheim Museum in Venice. Together with other outstanding museums in New-York, Bilbao and Berlin, this collection is part of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation, one of the largest private art collections in the world.

In November 2000 THE RED TOWER was awarded the 1st Prize at the International Composition Contest of OMAN.

1. Piccolo
4. Flutes I
4. Flutes II
2. Oboes I/II
1. English Horn (F)
2. Bassoons I/II

1. Eb Clarinet
6. Bb Clarinet I
6. Bb Clarinet II
6. Bb Clarinet III
1. Eb Alto Clarinet
1. Bb Bass Clarinet

1. Bb Soprano Sax
2. Eb Alto Sax I
2. Eb Alto Sax II
2. Bb Tenor Sax
1. Eb Baritone Sax

3. F Horn I/III
3. F Horn II/IV
2. Bb Trumpet I
2. Bb Trumpet II
2. Bb Trumpet III
2. Bb Trumpet IV

2. Trombone I (C)
2. Trombone II (C)
2. Trombone III (C)
2. Baritone/Euphonium B.C. (C)
2. Baritone/Euphonium T.C. (Bb)
4. Basses (C)
1. String Bass

1. Timpani
4. Percussion I & II – Glass Chimes, Snare Drum, Bass Drum, Tom-tom, Flexatone, Tam-tam, Triangle, Suspended Cymbal.
3. Mallets – Vibraphone, Marimba, Xylophone, Bells, Tubular Bells.
1. Piano

Additional Parts [for European countries only]
2. Eb Horn I/III
2. Eb Horn II/IV
2. Bb Trombone I (T.C. & B.C.)
2. Bb Trombone II  (T.C. & B.C.)
2. Bb Trombone III  (T.C. & B.C.)
2. Bb Baritone/Euph. (B.C.)
2. Eb Bass Tuba  (T.C. & B.C.)
3. Bb Bass Tuba (T.C. & B.C.)